Blessing of fear

My 13-month-old just had a nightmare. I helped him back to sleep.

You know, I have a theory about children and fear. I think they need to interact with fear. That’s why they like to do daring things, hear scary stories–perhaps God even gave nightmares to help us cope and be reassured when we wake from them. Hopefully, they stay in the dream realm and do not become reality.

Fairy tales do not tell children the dragons exist. Children already know that dragons exist. Fairy tales tell children the dragons can be killed.
–G. K. Chesterton

Don’t get me wrong: I don’t think kids should be flooded by fear. Being overexposed an traumatized is obviously bad for children, but preventing any exposure does not help them. This is why a lot of the most classic children’s literature can be pretty fearful.







Just to reference a few. 😉

Tell me something

