Darkness of Night…mares

My son had a nightmare. He woke up calling and repeatedly crying out for, “Light!–Light!–Light!

His music box tied to his crib has a little night light on a timer. He quickly must have climbed up to turn it on. Between his sobbing and asking for Light and Mama, I had wondered if maybe he felt some real kind of pain. But it seemed that he had only been dreaming after all. The irony is that we were, at that moment, watching Twilight: Breaking Dawn part 2; that while we were watching a movie about Dark, Dark, he was crying for Light, Light.

Yet another reminder to me that our feelings and sensibilities work even without our awareness. Some things bother us for reasons, even if our cultured mind tells us that we should pay them no mind. Put in sexy young actors, a trendy soundtrack, take out the blood, and suddenly you can forget about the wanton violence and cursed, demon-spawn that originally was the world of vampires.

Dude, who WOULDN’T want to be this brand of monster?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m not saying that everything with an element of fear or evil should be strictly off-limits to children. I only advocate moderation and intentionality. (Don’t get me started on my Alice & Wonderland rant. I’ll save that for another post.) But my son reminds me, in his own way, that nearly everything that is going on matters. That there really is a Battle going on all the time and ground is either being gained or surrendered.

darkness[1]

Tell me something

