Hate To-Do Lists?

How about a Being List? Who will you be this week? Might as well try it.

Got this from Chris Guillebeau (on Twitter @chrisguillebeau)

Got this from Chris Guillebeau (on Twitter @chrisguillebeau)

Here’s a modest example:

To-Be Today

      • A dad to my son
      • A caring husband
      • A servant leader, who leaves a place looking better than I found it, and leaving someone feeling better than I found them
      • Helpful
      • Someone who trusts God, and trusts in something much bigger than himself
      • Someone who reaches out to somebody else that is hard for me to connect with
      • Someone who will give something without concern over what I’ll get back
      • A trusting business partner, who follows the advice of those who have gone before me
      • Sincere
      • A remover of my own excuses
      • A person who prays for people I don’t understand instead of bemoaning them
      • A person who likes what he is becoming and is thankful for what he has

It’s not easy to make a list like this at first. I found myself reverting many times to a “do” and “don’t” list. There’s nothing wrong with a Do-list (and things still need to get done), but for me it is important to balance what I do and what I am. If I’m more aware of what I’m doing and what I want to do, I can be more aware of who and what I want to become, and vice versa.

No matter what I do, I’m going to be something. I will become what I have done up to that point. If I know what I want to be, it will guide me as to what I must do in order to get there. And it starts in this moment, which is the only one I actually have.

That is an encouraging thought. 😉

20120703-134007.jpg

One thought on “Hate To-Do Lists?

  1. Pingback: Following Your Heart | Sunshine Factor

Tell me something

