For those who can’t talk real good…

Top 10 Mispronunciations that are more annoying [to me] than “nucular.”

I know that ‘nucular’ gets some extra time in the hot seat because of politicians, but there are mispronunciations that are much more bothersome to me. I come across them more often, so maybe that has something to do with it.

Call me weird, but I really appreciate being corrected when I say something wrong, so that I don’t sound ignorant, disrespectful, or dumb. It doesn’t have to be in a mean way. (I really have to work on my approach. I’ve recently learned I have a blunter, sharper delivery than I ever imagined.)

I would love it if you would leave a comment with one or two that really should be on this list. It’s good to say things right. 😉

Expresso–As in, “Can I get an extra shot of expresso?” I suppose if you are referring to espresso’s occasional natural diarrhetic effect…then it’s fitting.

Perfek–As in, “That dive was a perfek ten!” If E is your SL, then I understand. It’s not easy at first.

Comferble–As in, “This chair is so comferble.” I know the true pronunciation sounds ridiculous, but at least give a nod to the central ‘t’ with the conventional “comftorble.”

Chai Tea–Since “chai” or something close to it is the word for tea throughout the Asian continent, the “tea” is simply redundant.

Worcestershire–You know you can’t say it either.

I don’t know if I’m picking on the word, or on the institutionalized butchering of it, but it sure is good stuff to cook with, irregardless.

(Doh!)

Irregardless–It’s in the dictionary now with the “nonstandard” tag. So I don’t dwell on it. But it is a double negative, still.

Punkin–As in, “Can I get some punkin pie.” I prefer ‘bumpkin’ if you are going to botch the beloved gourd.

Ornch–Why does anyone say “orange” when they refer to the fruit form, but in the next sentence ask for a glass of “ornch juice”?

Gowda–As in the cheese.

Orientated–When instead the person means “oriented” as in positioned in a certain way.

-eh!–This suffix is increasingly affixed to the last word of many sentences proceeding from the mouths of certain persons (I won’t say which gender), of a certain socioeconomic bracket (middle-upper), and especially from a certain region (I live in Huntington Beach.) Usually used for emphasis. Examples are:

  • Oh my gawd-eh!
  • That’s SO random-eh!
  • She was TOtally wasted-eh!.
  • (“-uh!” is a variation, of course.) NOooo-uh!
Tell me something

